Chairman’s message

2016 was always going to be a year of transition for IMMOBEL with all attention being devoted to the issue of the merger.

850,000 m2 of projects under development

The priority was to create a dynamic for several projects that have dragged on for years, tying up capital, and to lease and sell fully finished office buildings. 

The exceptional qualities of the combined teams and our new colleagues have led to an unprecedented dynamism and results.  

Our other strategic objectives were to consolidate our position in our various markets: (i) keep residential up to date, (ii) strengthen landbanking and provide it with added value, (iii) continue with our successes in Luxembourg, (iv) monitor Poland for its qualities and results, strengthen the division and set up a residential department.

Leased office buildings that had already been for sale for years were sold (Westside Village in Luxembourg, Okraglak in Poland). Black Pearl was leased to the European Commission and sold. RAC 2, an office building that had been completed since June 2015, was leased to the Brussels Capital Region and sold at a record price. Gateway, at Brussels Airport, leased to Deloitte, was completed and definitively sold to Befimmo.

The situation improved in terms of from difficult projects from urban development and economic points of view  (Parc Seny, Chien Vert, Îlot Saint-Roch, ...). Work on the large Universalis Park project consisting of more than 100,000 m² begun with a very successful start of sales. The construction permit for the equally ambitious O’Sea project in Ostend was obtained and the construction contract was assigned (for a first phase). Chambon - winner of Best Refurbished Building at MIPIM Awards 2017 - (former ASLK site in the centre of Brussels) and the first phase of Ernest (former Solvay headquarters in Ixelles) were finished and are almost sold out.

2017

You cannot sell the same property twice. The fact that we are already ahead  of our five-year business plan will result in 2017 being a year with less profit, where more can be sown than harvested. 

The start of several major projects: Ernest phase 2, O’Sea in Ostend, Infinity at Kirchberg (in Luxembourg) and the Polvermillen site in the centre of Luxembourg, etc…

The completion and letting of the headquarters of ING Luxembourg (Galerie Kons) with its sale to AXA were finalized end of March.

Despite its superb location in Warsaw, the Cedet project needs special attention. The complex work on this listed building will exceed the planned overall budget. Contrary to our initial business plan, completion is currently scheduled for the first half of 2018 instead of 2017. The margin on this project should meet expectations. CBD One, which is one of the best located office buildings in Warsaw is also experiencing a delay. All permits have been obtained but a third party is formulating privatisation claims on the street alongside the project. The intention is now to commence work in 2018. 

The 60,000 m² mixed-use project in Gdansk is going extremely well with a provisional pre-sale (subject to conditions) of a hotel and the selling of many apartments.

2017 year where more can be sown than harvested

The Polish team is being drastically reorganised. The Belgian senior team is now travelling biweekly to provide assistance and supervision. 

Luxembourg is going extremely well. The team has been doubled to 15 people and will continue to grow given the major and lucrative projects that we have there. 

2018 AND BEYOND

The years 2018, 2019 and 2020 should be peak years which will represent the culminating point of our existing pipelines and the strategies developed. Greenhill Park, two projects in Knokke-Heist, first and second phase of O’Sea, Infinity, Polvermillen, Centre Etoile, Cedet, CBD One, Granary Island, Ernest, Universalis Park, RAC 4 and Parc Seny should all be in various advanced stages of completion or sales. Construction works on the iconic 40,000 m² building in the Sablon district of Brussels and the 50,000 m² site at the Place de Brouckère should have started. The Allianz headquarters should have been delivered, close  to Brussels North station.

The proposed gross dividend for financial year 2016 is 2 EUR per share, an amount that will increase by 4 till 10% a year subject to the absence of any currently unforeseen exceptional events.
DIVIDEND

The Board of Directors has confirmed its intention to propose a recurring and increasing dividend to Shareholders. The outlook makes this possible.

It will propose to the General Meeting to grant for financial year 2016 a gross dividend of EUR 2 per share to the Shareholders, an amount that will increase by 4% to 10% a year subject to the absence of any currently unforeseen exceptional events.

Own shares, capital structure and strategy

The group has relatively high equity capital as a result of the merger. The Board of Directors has looked at all the alternatives regarding the appropriation of own shares and it has been decided that these will be retained as own shares without voting or dividend rights until additional capital needs would arise. The planned strategy consists of growth in Poland and the penetration of a fourth market. In addition, we will maintain our present scale in Belgium and Luxembourg, given our already relatively dominant position and the fact that we are interested only in projects above a certain scale.

We repaid a bond issue of 40 MEUR in 2016 and some lines of credit were also paid off. A study has shown that our best course is to issue a new bond of up to 100 MEUR. Interest rates are at a historic low point and the bond will give us an ideal balance between our various financial instruments. It will also help to reduce our cost of capital and make us more competitive. Our debt ratio will remain at a healthy level.

Compliance

Much work is being done to strengthen the checks and balances in the company.  

The Board of Directors has been reinforced, and now comprises nine directors, five of whom are independent and four of whom are women; the directors are of three different nationalities. Specific attention has been paid to the need for thorough professionalism, a good overall perspective with profound expertise in the necessary fields, and independence of thought in the interests of the company and of all its shareholders and stakeholders.

The intensity of reporting has been substantially increased in the company. A control department has been established, tasked with monitoring the company’s operations closely. All this information is processed by the CFO and the CEO, who report to the Executive Committee, the Audit Committee and ultimately the Board of Directors.

Important note

Europe and the world are enjoying economic growth yet find themselves in uncharted waters, with social and economic risks unseen since the Second World War. The group will take these macro factors fully into account in its decision-making policy. The skills, capital, capital markets and motivation are in place for our group to experience steady and significant growth in the decades to come, with an ROE vision of at least 15%. Our ambitions should not get out of hand though. We must always consider the world we live in and act accordingly. The long-term vision set out by IMMOBEL over 150 years ago must remain the guiding thread in our policy.

Finally, it is the Board’s wish to continue ALLFIN’s charity policy and to allocate a small portion of our net profits to charitable causes. These relate to three categories: health care, culture, and above all, how we can contribute to greater social cohesion and inclusion in our society. We are currently looking into specific projects and we will post details of the fine initiatives that we are able support on our website so that every shareholder can read with pride about the good causes to which he or she is contributing.

Marnix Galle
Executive Chairman

Having arrived at IMMOBEL in order to breathe some fresh air into it, Alexander Hodac was given the mission of communicating his dynamism to his teams with a strong philosophy: to always listen to them in order to help them to advance and surpass themselves.

“Having been named Managing Director of IMMOBEL in December 2015 at the age of 34, I knew from the outset that this mission would be quite a challenge! Since then, the Group has gone through some major changes, including the merger with ALLFIN in June 2016 – which gave us a certain degree of recognition but which also highlighted what was really at stake.

My role today is that of the conductor of a committed orchestra. I wish to make IMMOBEL grow and become a company with a long term portfolio and an international reach. Last year, 2016, was a year of revelation rather than transition. A year during which Marnix Galle and myself were able to bring our ideas about the world and the real estate market together in concrete terms, and put them into practice. The first results of this work as a duo speak for themselves. We have surpassed the objectives we set ourselves.

But we didn’t do this all alone. IMMOBEL has also set itself a human objective, of which I am trying to be the first ambassador: to listen to the men ands women who work here, bring all of our teams together towards the same goal and the same common vision.

IMMOBEL had been seen as something of an old lady and yet all of the members of staff – all generations together – possess exceptional skills and are ready to innovate. I think that this deep-rooted transformation is already making itself felt on the market, but also in the choice of challenges we have the intention to take up. In particular, that of developing innovative and profitable projects”.

Message du président

Avec toute l’attention accordée à la problématique relative à la fusion, 2016 devait être une année de transition pour IMMOBEL.

850.000 m2 de projets en développement

La priorité absolue était de créer une dynamique pour plusieurs projets en cours depuis des années, des gouffres à capital, et de louer et vendre des immeubles de bureaux entièrement terminés.  

Les qualités formidables des équipes fusionnées et nos nouveaux collaborateurs ont engendré des résultats et un dynamisme sans précédent.  

Nos autres objectifs stratégiques étaient la consolidation de notre position sur nos différents marchés : (i) maintenir le résidentiel à niveau, (ii) renforcer le lotissement et lui trouver de la valeur ajoutée, (iii) poursuivre sur la lancée de notre succès luxembourgeois, (iv) contrôler les qualités et les résultats en Pologne, renforcer la division et mettre en place un département résidentiel. 

Des immeubles de bureaux loués, qui étaient à vendre depuis des années, ont été vendus (Westside Village au Luxembourg, Okraglak en Pologne). Black Pearl a été loué à la Commission européenne et vendu. RAC 2, un immeuble de bureaux déjà réceptionné depuis juin 2015, a été loué à la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale et vendu à un prix record. Gateway, situé sur le site de l’aéroport de Bruxelles et loué à Deloitte, a été réceptionné et vendu définitivement à Befimmo. 

La situation s’est améliorée pour des projets compliqués d’un point de vue urbanistique ou économique (Parc Seny, Chien Vert, Îlot Saint-Roch, etc.). Les travaux liés à l’énorme projet Universalis Park (de plus de 100.000 m²) ont été entamés, avec un début de vente très réussi. Le permis de bâtir du tout aussi ambitieux projet O’Sea à Ostende a été obtenu et les travaux de construction d’une première phase ont été attribués. Chambon – gagnant du MIPIM Awards 2017 dans la catégorie « Best Refurbished Building » (ancien siège de la CGER au cœur de Bruxelles) et la première phase d’Ernest (ancien siège de Solvay à Ixelles) ont été achevés et ont pratiquement été vendus entièrement.

2017

Un bâtiment ne peut être vendu deux fois. Le fait que nous soyons en avance sur notre business plan quinquennal a pour conséquence que 2017 sera une année moins riche en résultats, où nous sèmerons plus que nous ne récolterons. 

Le lancement d’une série de projets importants est en chantier : la phase 2 de Ernest, O’Sea à Ostende, Infinity sur le plateau du Kirchberg (au Luxembourg), le site de Polvermillen dans le centre de Luxembourg, etc.

La réception et la location du siège social d’ING Luxembourg (Galerie Kons) ainsi que la vente connexe à AXA ont été finalisées fin mars.

En dépit de son superbe emplacement à Varsovie, le projet Cedet requiert une attention particulière. Les travaux complexes réalisés sur ce bâtiment classé excéderont le budget global prévu. Contrairement au business plan initial, la réception est à présent prévue au premier semestre de 2018 au lieu de 2017. La marge sur ce projet devrait répondre aux attentes. CBD One, qui sera un des immeubles de bureaux les mieux situés de Varsovie, enregistre également du retard. Tous les permis ont été obtenus, mais un tiers formule des prétentions de privatisation sur la rue longeant le projet. L’objectif est à présent de commencer les travaux en 2018.

Le projet mixte de 60.000 m² à Gdansk se passe magnifiquement bien avec une prévente sous conditions d’un hôtel et de nombreuses ventes d’appartements.

2017 année où nous sèmerons plus que nous ne récolterons

L’équipe polonaise est modifiée en profondeur. L’équipe belge de cadres supérieurs y effectue à présent des contrôles toutes les deux semaines pour fournir une assistance et une supervision.

Le Luxembourg tourne magnifiquement bien. L’équipe a doublé en taille, passant à 15 personnes, et continuera à grandir vu les importants projets lucratifs que nous y avons. 

2018 ET APRÈS

Les années 2018, 2019 et 2020 devraient être d’excellentes années qui constitueront le point culminant de nos pipelines existants et des stratégies développées. Greenhill Park, deux projets à Knokke-Heist, les première et deuxième phases de O’Sea, Infinity, Polvermillen, Centre Étoile, Cedet, CBD One, Granary Island, Ernest, Universalis Park, RAC 4 et Parc Seny devraient tous en faire partie à différents stades avancés de réception ou de vente. Le bâtiment emblématique de 40.000 m² situé sur le Sablon à Bruxelles et le site de 50.000 m² sur la place de Brouckère devraient avoir été entamés. Le nouveau siège d’Allianz près de la Gare du Nord à Bruxelles devrait avoir été réceptionné.

La proposition de dividende brut pour l’exercice 2016 est de 2 EUR, montant qui croîtra de 4 à 10% par an, sous réserve d’événements exceptionnels imprévus.
Dividende

Le Conseil d’Administration a confirmé l’intention de proposer aux Actionnaires un dividende récurrent et croissant. Les perspectives le permettent. 

Il proposera à l’Assemblée Générale d’octroyer aux Actionnaires un dividende brut de 2 EUR par action au titre de l’exercice 2016, montant qui croîtra de 4 à 10% par an, sous réserve d’événements exceptionnels imprévus.

Actions propres, structure du capital et stratégie

Le Groupe dispose de capitaux propres relativement élevés suite à la fusion. Le Conseil d’administration a examiné toutes les alternatives concernant l’affectation des actions propres et il a été décidé que celles-ci seraient maintenues en tant qu’actions propres sans droit de vote ni droit au dividende, jusqu’à ce qu’il y ait une nécessité de capitalisation. La stratégie envisagée consiste à assurer notre croissance en Pologne et à explorer un quatrième marché. Parallèlement, nous nous efforcerons de nous maintenir en Belgique et au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg où nous occupons déjà une position relativement dominante et où nous ne participons qu’à des projets d’une certaine ampleur.

En 2016, nous avons remboursé un emprunt obligataire de 40 MEUR et supprimé certaines lignes de crédit. Une étude a révélé qu’il serait opportun d’émettre un nouvel emprunt obligataire de 100 MEUR. Les taux d’intérêt ont atteint un niveau historiquement bas et cet emprunt nous permettrait de parvenir à un équilibre idéal entre nos différents instruments financiers. Cet emprunt contribuerait également à réduire le coût du capital et à augmenter notre compétitivité. Notre niveau d’endettement restera sain.

Compliancy

Nous fournissons un travail considérable afin de renforcer les contrôles et contrepoids dans la société. 

Le Conseil d’Administration a été renforcé et compte à présent 9 administrateurs, dont 5 administrateurs indépendants, 4 administrateurs féminins, de trois nationalités différentes. Une attention spécifique a été portée au professionnalisme, à la vision hélicoptère avec un savoir-faire étendu dans les domaines clés, à l’indépendance d’esprit dans l’intérêt de la société, de ses actionnaires et de ses stakeholders.

La fréquence de reporting dans la société a été sensiblement augmentée. Un département controlling a été créé avec, pour mission, de superviser étroitement les activités opérationnelles de la société. Toutes ces informations sont traitées par le CFO et CEO qui font rapport au Comité Exécutif, au Comité d’Audit et, au final, au Conseil d’Administration.

Remarque importante

L’Europe et le monde bénéficient d’une croissance économique mais évoluent toutefois dans l’incertitude, avec des risques sociaux, économiques et sociétaux que nous n’avions plus connus depuis la Seconde Guerre mondiale. Le groupe tiendra compte de ces macro-facteurs dans sa politique décisionnelle. Les compétences, les capitaux, les marchés de capitaux et la motivation sont là pour qu’au cours des prochaines décennies, notre groupe connaisse une croissance progressive et notable, toujours avec une perspective de ROE d’au moins 15%. Nos ambitions ne peuvent toutefois être débridées et doivent toujours tenir compte du monde dans lequel nous vivons. La vision à long terme élaborée par IMMOBEL il y a plus de 150 ans de cela doit rester le fil conducteur de notre stratégie.

Enfin, le Conseil d’Administration tient à poursuivre la politique de bienfaisance d’ALLFIN en continuant à distribuer une petite partie de notre bénéfice net à des œuvres de charité. À cet égard, nous privilégions trois domaines, à savoir les soins de santé, la culture et surtout la contribution à une plus grande cohésion sociale et inclusion dans notre société. Nous examinons actuellement des projets concrets et nous publierons la liste des initiatives louables que nous avons décidé de soutenir sur notre site web, de façon à ce que chaque actionnaire puisse découvrir avec fierté quelle bonne cause il ou elle soutient.

Cordialement,

Marnix Galle
Président exécutif

Arrivé chez IMMOBEL pour y faire souffler un vent nouveau, Alexander Hodac s’est vu confier la mission de transmettre son dynamisme à ses équipes avec un credo fort : toujours rester à leur écoute pour les aider à progresser et se dépasser.

« Nommé administrateur délégué d’IMMOBEL en décembre 2015, à 34 ans, je savais d’entrée de jeu que cette mission serait un défi considérable ! Depuis lors, le Groupe a traversé des mutations majeures – dont la fusion avec ALLFIN en juin 2016 – qui nous ont fait bénéficier d’une certaine reconnaissance mais qui ont encore davantage mis en exergue les réels enjeux.

Mon rôle aujourd’hui est celui d’un chef d’orchestre engagé. Je souhaite faire grandir IMMOBEL et en faire une société avec un portefeuille durable et une portée internationale. L’année 2016, a été une année de révélation plutôt que de transition. Une année où Marnix Galle et moi avons pu faire concrètement converger nos idées sur le monde et le marché immobilier, et les mettre en œuvre. Les premiers résultats de ce travail en tandem parlent d’eux-mêmes. Nous avons dépassé les objectifs que nous nous étions fixés.

Mais nous n’avons pas fait cela seuls. IMMOBEL a également fixé un objectif humain dont j’essaye d’être le premier ambassadeur : être à l’écoute des hommes et des femmes qui y travaillent, fédérer toutes nos équipes vers le même but, la même vision commune. IMMOBEL était perçue comme une vieille dame, or les collaborateurs ici – toutes générations confondues – possèdent de formidables compétences et sont prêts à innover.

Je pense que cette profonde transformation se fait déjà ressentir sur le marché, mais également dans le choix des défis que nous avons l’intention de relever. Notamment, celui de développer des projets innovants et rentables ! »